Recovering from a Broken Hip: A Journey to walking, cycling, and living fully

Paul Ryan
3 min readJan 13, 2024

--

Introduction: This blog post aims to provide insights and motivation to those searching for information on broken hips, hip surgery, and dynamic hip screws. Drawing from my personal experience as an avid cyclist and outdoor enthusiast, I will share my story, recovery tips, and the crucial role of physiotherapy in the healing process.

About Me: I am a dedicated cyclist who covers approximately 100 miles per week, engaging in recreational weight training and hiking. Despite my active lifestyle, accidents can happen to anyone, and at the age of 44, I faced a challenging situation.

The Accident: In September 2020, amid the COVID-19 pandemic, cycling became my refuge. However, one evening, a routine bike ride took a drastic turn at a traffic light-controlled crossroads, leading to a life-changing collision.

Emergency Room and Injuries: As a “walk-in” patient at the emergency room, I received stitches for facial wounds, pain relief, and an X-ray that failed to detect my fractured hip. I strongly advise calling for an ambulance in such situations, as prompt and specialized care is crucial. UK hospitals prioritize ambulance arrivals, ensuring immediate attention.

Additionally, honesty about your pain level in the ER is essential, as hip bones can deteriorate quickly post-injury due to reduced blood supply.

Getting the Right Help: Ignoring the signs of a broken hip can have dire consequences. In my case, consulting an orthopedic surgeon and obtaining an MRI confirmed the fracture. Prompt diagnosis is crucial to minimize the risk of a hip replacement.

Hip Surgery: Surgery is a necessity for all hip fractures, as they cannot heal without intervention. While the news of surgery may be daunting, the procedure itself often yields less pain than before.

Taking Control of Recovery: My recovery emphasized the critical role of an experienced and empathetic physiotherapist, along with daily commitment. Skilled physiotherapists provide invaluable guidance, set achievable goals, offer diverse exercises, and help strike the right balance between caution and progress. They facilitate a safe return to activities and address overexertion issues.

Goodbye Crutches: Leaving crutches behind can be liberating, though the transition may feel peculiar. I initially believed walking frequently was the key to recovery, but I encountered coordination problems and pain.

Recovery Challenges: Episodes of hip sinking, pain, and coordination issues presented significant challenges. There were moments of doubt, but determination drove me to regain mobility and independence.

Present-Day: As of October 31, 2022, over two years post-accident, my recovery stands at approximately 95%. I have resumed cycling, hiking, squatting, and leg weights. Occasional twinges and brief pain no longer dominate my thoughts.

Conclusion: Recovering from a broken hip is an arduous journey, but with the right support, determination, and timely medical intervention, mobility and an active lifestyle can be restored. Seek help promptly, collaborate with a skilled physiotherapist, and commit to daily exercises for a successful recovery. Don’t lose hope, and continue progressing on your path to healing.

#BrokenHipRecovery #HipSurgeryJourney #DynamicHipScrew #RehabilitationSuccess #PhysiotherapyTips #InjuryRecovery #ActiveLifestyleAfterInjury #DHS

--

--