Teochew Mooncake

Easy print
2 min readAug 30, 2024

--

Teochew Mooncake paste is enclosed in an ultra-flaky spiral pastry crust with colourful pastel rainbow colours, making this Teochew spiral yam mooncake both eye-candy and delectable. I called it rainbow spiral yam mooncake, but I didn’t use all six colours. My daughter suggested I call it unicorn colour instead. Well, rainbow is enough for me

This flaky spiral mooncake is one of my favourites. They appear more sophisticated than they actually are. They are Teochew Mooncake significantly easier to create than traditional Chinese baked mooncakes. A while back, I prepared these thousand-layer spiral mooncakes with red bean paste filling. This time, I want a sweet yam/taro filling. It’s a personal favourite filling for mooncakes and pastries.

Teochew Mooncake Divide the cooled taro paste into 12 parts (6 in the images because I only made half the amount), each weighing around 40 grammes. Roll into round balls, cover, and refrigerate while you prepare the rest.Water dough: In a large mixing bowl, combine flour and icing sugar. Rub the shortening into the flour mixture. It will feel crumbly, like breadcrumbs. Gradually add the water and continue to combine and knead until the dough is non-sticky.

Teochew Mooncake Each colour will take 25 grammes of cake flour, 10 grammes of butter, and food colouring. Rub the butter into the flour to make a smooth dough. Add food colouring and knead until evenly coloured. Cover the dough and let it to rest for 30 minutes. Repeat with the remaining flour and butter to make three more doughs of varied colours.

Teochew Mooncake Preheat the oven to 180 C (350 F). My oven only uses bottom heat. If you are using a convection top and bottom heat oven, please modify accordingly. Work with a single dough at a time. Using a rolling pin, form this dough into a flat oval. Read More

--

--