I hit 2 Milestones on Medium

Pavithra Aravindan
2 min readAug 9, 2016

--

Yes, I hit 2 milestones on Medium and I was pretty thrilled but not for the obvious reason.

The milestones I achieved are: Writing on Medium for one year and 500 followers.

Which is not a great achievement or barely an achievement to most people but I am very happy. Because…

I started writing assuming I would never last a year but I did.

I never thought I would write atleast one article in 2 weeks but I did.

I wrote about how people can be anything they want to be. And this inspired so many people and I am so thankful for that.

I learned so much from researching and reading.

I learned to be patient and except criticism and not give up.

I got feedback on my design sprints and exercises.

I started following tech news to stay on top of stuff and write about it.

I wrote about what I feel and felt great when I did.

Writing made me brave enough to actually give a talk at a top design conference.

I imparted some design skills and job hunt knowledge of mine to the world.

I wrote about the richness of my country.

Travel inspired me to write an article to inspire people to travel.

And above all, I wrote the most influential article because it influenced me to do something I thought I couldn’t.

I have been meaning to start my own Youtube channel for the past 2 years and I never could because I had a million reasons not to.

One of the main reason being that I might not continue it.

Because I start a lot of things that I feel are exciting and never continue.

But, when I was writing this article, I thought, “why not?”
When I hit the milestone on Medium and Facebook page, I thought, “why not?”
And I started it! Finally! After 2 whole years. And I can’t be more excited for my new venture. Please check it out if you have some time. Thanks!

I want to take this opportunity to motivate all the people out there to continue what they are excited to start or have started.

It doesn’t matter if you fail.

It doesn’t matter if the idea suddenly sucks.

It doesn’t matter if it starts getting boring.

It doesn’t matter if it is not taking you in a vertical slope.

It doesn’t matter if you are not an overnight success.

If you started something, it means you cared enough about it and believed in it. So, just continue doing it. Don’t give up.

Trust me. It will get you somewhere, much better than where you are now.

Thank You all so much for keeping me inspired. I can’t be more excited for my future. Have a great week!

--

--