Hipcamp- Nature Dice (The Ultimate Weekend Trip)

Paytonlhouden
2 min readSep 28, 2023

--

Disclaimer: I do not have all of the key details of Hipcamp’s user base, and I am making assumptions, based on limited information. This article is simply me diving into one of my favorite companies and exploring a feature that seem intriguing, although it may not be possible due to limitations.

What Is Hipcamp?

As an avid weekend camper I have always loved using Hipcamp, Hipcamp is a company that allows landowners (hosts) to list their property for individuals to come and use for camping. Their mission is to connect individuals with the nature surrounding them, encouraging everyone to value and protect the environment.

The Hosts & The Campers

Hipcamp: Nature Dice

Nature Dice is my proposed idea to help hosts book any unbooked hipcamps the week before, while also encouraging hipcampers to take that last minute, spur of the moment trip. It would give hipcampers a slightly discounted rate on a cool site, while helping the hosts maintain as many bookings as they can.

How Would Nature Dice Work

V1: The Hipcamper View

For a V1 I mocked up the flow a hipcamper would go through when they want to take a spur the moment surprise trip.

Considerations

  1. Host Activity. One thing I thought about was the fact that hosts may not be active daily or weekly to know that Nature Dice is even an option. We could counter act this by sending a notification to them, but we don’t want them to become irritated with the notifications.
  2. Payment Placement. I wasn’t sure where to put the payment within this feature. I believe it should go before the user is given their Hipcamp for the weekend but feel like this could be problematic if users don’t like the site they are given (this could be a flaw within this entire feature).

Next Steps

I want to take this to both Hosts and Hipcampers and get their feedback on the feature. Once I have more feedback I would love to continue to develop this feature in a way that best suits both users needs!

--

--