OutSchool: UX Deep Dive

Paytonlhouden
2 min readOct 3, 2023

--

Disclaimer: I do not have all of the key details of OutSchool’s user base, and I am making assumptions, based on limited information. This article is simply me diving into a really unique company and exploring a few UX enhancements I would make.

Who is Outschool?

Outschool is an education platform that provides online, small-group classes for kids of all ages. They offer a wide variety of classes for many ages that cover different topics and are taught by experienced teachers. Outschool’s goal is to help kids explore their own interests while collaborating with peers and teachers.

Who Uses Outschool?

Ideation

Before diving into Figma I wrote out all of the content that Outschool has on each of their class pages and attempted to catgeorize it in a more cohesive way. Once I had some ideas here, I sketched a few very lofi drafts on what these screens may look like.

UX Enhancement (Class Description Screen)

Once I had some ideas out on paper I jumped into figma to create some medium fidelity screens. Below I have the original screens as well as the new screens I am proposing, as well as my design decisions I made along the way.

Next Steps

Moving forward with this UX screen enhancement I would love to sync with others on my team as well as get some real user feedback. I have a lot of visions on where this application could go and I want to ensure everything is aligned with what works best for the users and the business!

Unlisted

--

--