TaxNow Tasks

Paytonlhouden
2 min readOct 13, 2023

--

Disclaimer: I do not have all of the key details of TaxNow’s user base, and I am making assumptions. This article is based on my limited knowledge of TaxNow and their user base.

Who is TaxNow?

TaxNow is a company that is helping the everyday person better understand their taxes and tax standing. They have created a comprehensive tax management solution for both individuals and businesses, empowering them to take control of their finances.

Who Uses TaxNow?

Proposed Feature: Tasks

When looking at the two user personas that have been crafted, one thing that they both experience is confusion. The overall tax process can be confusing and users may struggle to know what their exact next steps should be. My proposed solution to speed up their workflow (if feasible) is a “Tasks” section. I have created a low fidelity mock-up seen below.

**This is a lofi mock to represent my ideas, not perfect UI**

I believe a tasks section would give our users a way to feel control over their Taxes because they’d know what to do next and how to accomplish it. It would help them save time and give them a better understanding of their taxes. A few design decisions I made along the way are:

  1. Tasks Location: I wanted to ensure the user can view this through the entire platform. This way users can always view their next steps, leading to a more streamlined experience.
  2. Completion: I made the decision to allow users to mark things as completed, this way once they have done the task, they can check it off. I think it would be really cool if the platform could do this automatically once they have completed a task but am not sure what capabilities we have for a V1.
  3. Due Dates: Giving users a due date shows them the time they have to complete this task, if they are overdue we mark this in a bright red, making sure the user will notice it.

Next Steps

Moving forward I would love to meet with some of our users to ensure this feature is aligned with what they would benefit from. Along with user testing, I also want to meet with some of the CPAs on the team as well as our engineers to ensure this is feasible for everyone involved. Meeting with people internally would also give me the opportunity to format this more appropriately. Once I have results from user testing and have been able to sync with the team, I would love to bring this design to high fidelity and hand it off to the engineering team.

Unlisted

--

--