Music Q&A with: Jenna Scott

Pamela Shapiro
4 min readSep 28, 2015

--

Jenna Scott is a Health and Human Sciences major at Colorado State University. She loves music and has attended various concerts. However, she is new to the Fort Collins music scene in Old Town. She talked about her thoughts on local Fort Collins music as well as why she loves music.This Q&A was conducted via email.

  1. ) What local Fort Collins bands do you enjoy seeing live in Fort Collins and why?
Photo from: https://www.flickr.com/photos/kdcyyz/galleries/72157626396105157/

I’ve seen Shatterproof, and Jurassicasters perform here in Fort Collins. Many of the band members in these two groups are family friends which is the main reason I’ve seen them so many times. I don’t see many other local bands perform.

2.) Do you like going to live shows better than listening to the music on your phone or IPod? Why? Or why not?

Photo from: http://darkriderdlmc.deviantart.com/art/Music-is-life-Life-is-music-99933291

I guess overall I would prefer to listen to music on my phone. I am very picky about who I see live just because I don’t like crowds. If my favorite bad was performing in Denver for example, I would absolutely rather go see them live. I love live music if I know I enjoy the music.

3.) How did you hear about the local bands in Fort Collins?

-Facebook. I am friends with a member of Shatterproof on Facebook so he invites me to all local shows. Other than that, usually just family or friends mentioning who is playing.

4.) Where is your favorite spot/venue in Old Town to listen to live music and why?

-I almost never go to old town and the only place I have watched live music being performed is the “Square”. I think that’s what it’s called. That would be my favorite. I did really enjoy the venue. Also, I say I like the square just because that’s the only place I’ve seen a live band in old town. I liked the atmosphere with all the shops and charm. It was fun to hang out for a bit with friends with music in the background. I like the old fashioned feel.

5.) What is your favorite genre of music and why?

Photo from: http://fantasticalicious-xx.deviantart.com/art/Music-Notes-Brushes-127253033

-I like pop and occasionally country. I am very picky about what I listen to but most of what I listen to is pop. I enjoy artists who can perform well live these artists, that I like, tend to sing pop or country.

6.) Have you ever been a part of a band? If not, do you hope to have some sort of involvement with music in the future? Why? Why not?

-I have never been part of a band. I have always liked the idea of being apart of a band. I play piano and I hope one day I would join my church band. I used to be in orchestra through Middle/High School and I miss it!! I miss being apart of a group playing music like we did, so I would like to revisit that one day.

7.) Have there been any local Fort Collins bands that have impacted you personally? If so how and what bands?

-Not personally no. I don’t see many shows because I don’t necessarily enjoy it. I don’t like crowds and I’m really sensitive to smoke. I don’t last too long in Old Town because of that. Even if I wasn’t though, I still probably wouldnt like to. I’ve never been a fan of seeing live music unless I know I will like it ahead of time. I tend to go to Red Rocks or other venues in Denver when my favorite bands/artists play.

8.) How do Fort Collins locals find out about shows or concerts if they are not a part of the music “scene,” any recommendations?

Photo from: http://www.deviantart.com/morelikethis/collections/357051853

-Facebook? I feel like this is where I get most of my information about local bands these days. That and friends talking. Sometimes I see signs or advertisements around old town for upcoming events.

9.) What do you love the most about music and why?

-I LOVE music!! It really is the combination of the artist, the lyrics and the production. Each one plays a huge part in each song. Sometimes it can be just the artist’s voice itself and other times it can be the lyrics, and also just the music — like an instrumental track. I love music that is appealing to the ear, like something you can listen to over and over again because it’s just “so good” and never gets old.

10.) What was a moment in your life when you knew you loved music? Can you describe a personal story?

-When I saw Phil Keaggy live in person at my church, it was one of the many moments I fell in love with music. He is a singer songwriter and an UNBELIEVABLE guitarist. He has an amazing talent with music — he is even missing one finger! He was just able to deliver so well on stage. You can tell he understands music so well — it made me jealous of his talent.

Note: All photos were taken from Google Images and labeled for reuse.

--

--