I’d call You when I am ready.

Peace Itimi
2 min readJun 3, 2017

--

On impulse I pick up my phone and dial the phone number belonging to xxx. We haven’t spoken in months.

Phone Rings and xxx picks

Me: ‘I half expected you not to pick my call.’

Xxx: ‘Why wouldn’t I?’

Me: ‘I don’t know. Anyway, how are you?’

Xxx: ‘I’m great…

Me: ‘You actually sound great. That’s cool! How’s mum?’

Xxx: ‘*laughs softly*, what did you expect? I’m not supposed to sound good?’

Me: ‘Oh well… I just thought of you and decided to call and say Hi. Good to know you are fine. Be Good aii?’

Xxx: ‘ Can I call you?’

Me: ‘Hell No'

Xxx: ‘Really? Why? I’d like to call'

Me: ‘Please don’t. So if I didn’t call, you wouldn’t call me yea? Nah! Don’t call'

Xxx: ‘But'

Me: ’This call wasn’t meant to be dramatic, I just wanted to check up on you. Do take care’.

End of Call

30secs Later, my phone beeps… Xxx just texted.

It reads: “I’d call you when I’m ready. Stop being annoying’’.

Funny, the text makes me smile, so I reply.

He He, So I’m annoying? Oshey”

Thus began the exchange of SMS …

Xxx replies: Thanks for bringing back old memories. Your voice did.

I text back: Is that your way of saying you missed me? Say it well joor.

Xxx replies: Your pride sha 😏 . I missed you a lot.

I mutter ‘I Miss you too’ but i don’t type nor send it, instead I type ‘Call me when you are ready … I’d be waiting.’ But that’s too cheesy, so instead I send this

Call me when you are ready. Take your time’.

Xxx replies: ‘OK. You are here in my heart always'

OMG! 😍 I think to myself.

I reply: ‘Same here baby. Same here. I love you’.

Xxx: I love you more Aina!

I get that text and my heart which was just learning to be at Peace (away from Xxx), does a flipflop. It melts. It races HARD.

There are so many things I’d like to say, but I don’t text back.

My Pride sha!

I’d just keep waiting for that call, for when Xxx is ready.

I hope it doesn’t take forever, its been too long already.

#ChroniclesofXXX

--

--

Peace Itimi

My Mission in life is to Grow People and Grow Businesses. • I do Digital Marketing, I Train, & sometimes I write • Co-founder @renedigitalhub @mutareclan