PRLB UA All America Q&A w/ Simon Orzell of the UA Midwest Underclass team

Peace Lacrosse Blog
3 min readJul 2, 2018

--

Simon Orzell is a rising sophomore who is coming off an incredible spring season.

Orzell started freshman year at Walsh Jesuit (OH). Was named First team all state, first team all region, regional positional player of the year, first team all league.

The Resolute club member Scooped up a whopping 130 ground balls. 2018 IMLCA cup tournament “most outstanding player” for 2021 class.

Peace Report: How does it feel to be selected for the Under Armour Underclass event?

Simon Orzell: It means a lot knowing I’m representing where I’m from. It definitely brings a lot more meaning when i play these games knowing i wear Midwest across my chest.

PRLB: What’s it mean to you to get some excellent exposure to how you play the game in front of College coaches?

Orzell: I honestly try not to think about playing in front of the coaches. If i start to realize who is watching o get super nervous and stress out. I play my best game when I’m playing hard and for the love of the game.

PRLB: How long have you been playing lacrosse?

Orzell: This is my 6th year of playing Lacrosse.

PRLB: How did you feel your HS team did this season?

Orzell: I think they did okay. Historically Walsh isn’t the best program, but with every season they are progressing into something that has the potential of being a powerhouse in northeast Ohio.

PRLB: What are you trying to improve on skill wise this summer?

Orzell: I’m trying to improve my shooting ability, as well as my overall Lacrosse game. I’m a faceoff Guy so i don’t have the skill set that some field players do, but I’m trying to improve my skills so that i can stand out from the other faceoff guys in my class to college coaches.

PRLB: What kind of sticks do you play with?

Orzell: Like i said before I’m a face off guy so I’m very particular on the sticks i use. I use different heads for different players I’m going against and I’m constantly trying to find a new head that can work for different situations.

PRLB: Name the favorite song your listening to now.

Orzell: My favorite song is a EDM song called sweet lovin’

PRLB: What’s your favorite movie?

Orzell: Rudy because i love a good underdog movie.

PRLB: In your opinion what’s the best part of your game?

Orzell: The best part of my game is the ability to be versatile at the faceoff X. I can do different techniques for different situations, and if i lose the initial clamp i can play from behind and get the ball back.

PRLB: Has the new recruiting rules made the searching for college process easier for you?

Orzell: Yes and no because with the new rules i have more time to grow and develop as a Lacrosse player and play the game for the love of it. The new rules also give kids like me who are smaller and haven’t really hit their growth spurt yet time to grow and develop. If the new rules weren’t in effect kids who are late bloomers would most likely be over looked. But on the other hand I’m always stressed out wondering if the rules didn’t exist if i could be committed by now, or if my top schools are interested in me or not. So the rules leave me in this waiting game wondering what’s going to happen when September 1st rolls around.

--

--

Peace Lacrosse Blog

Written and edited by Tom Peace. Peace is a national high school writer. Peace has been in the broadcasting and journalism field for over 15 years.