9 Things I Learned My First Week Of Traveling

Parker Lynn
4 min readNov 8, 2019

--

Temple in the Ancient City, Bangkok Thailand

These days it is not uncommon for millennials to throw caution to the wind and quit their day jobs to go travel. I am pleased to say I have joined the ranks of these noisy nomads. Last month I sold all my belongings (of which I had few to begin with), bought my ticket, and said adios to friends and family.

Since my income was about to be nonexistent I opted to travel where my dollar would stretch the farthest (furthest? You know what I mean). Alex, my token partner in crime, and I touched down in Bangkok, Thailand and haven’t looked back since.

While I’ve only been gone a week, I want to share a few things I’ve learned:

  1. No Matter How Hard You Try You Will Still Make Mistakes
    Since I am both loud and fairly ignorant, I made sure to do plenty of research prior to my travels to limit the amount of people I might offend. A few keystrokes into Google, I noticed that temples have a very strict dresscode; so I made sure to pack appropriate clothing. However, when Alex and I went to extend our visa at the immigration office, we were berated for wearing sandals and tank tops. Should you ever go anywhere governmentally run, be sure to wear long pants (not too tight), and shirts that cover your shoulders.
  2. People Are Generally Awesome
    In my opinion, everyone is just a touch afraid of being judged. But most people are rad as hell. In every hostel I have gone to, I have met amazing people. Maybe people are generally afraid to make the first move? But if you’re willing to be the one to say hello and put out the good energy, people will reciprocate. If striking up conversation is awkward for you, bring a deck of cards and play a game! (Bonus points if it’s a drinking game).
  3. Bikes Will Breakdown
    Old reliable, as it turns out, is just old, and is not reliable at all. Tourists use bikes to get around town all the time. However, companies don’t always maintain the equipment well. Maybe it’s a rusted seat that just won’t adjust, maybe it’s a flat tire, maybe it’s maybeline. Whatever the situation, I found myself about 1 mile into a lengthy tour when I heard a pop and a slight hissing sound. My trusty steed was down for the count. Luckily, we found a few employees wandering around and they swapped out the bike with no fees or issues. (See lesson 2).
  4. Google Translate Is Your Best Friend
    While people are generally awesome, many won’t speak the same language as you. If you download Google Translate you can download certain languages so you can get the translation even if you don’t have wifi. For signage, point the google translate camera at whatever menu/billboard and it will translate. You can also tap the conversation button (this was a life saver) and have a conversation with whomever you’re chatting with and it will translate both languages simultaneously. And of course, you can enter text in manually to translate.
  5. Saying Hello & Thank You In The Native Tongue Goes a LONG Way
    I didn’t think this really needed to be said, but the majority of folks I have met haven’t taken the time to learn those two phrases. I have gone into shops and said a simple “Sawasdee Ka” and the shopkeeper lights up. A little politeness goes a long way.
  6. Bring Tissues With You Everywhere You Go
    Toilet paper is not a guaranteed commodity, pack accordingly. I found my way into a public bathroom that was out of toilet paper and tried using a bidet for the first time, ending up soaking the wall, my pants, and my shoes…
  7. The Bidets Aren’t Scary, They’re Actually Kind of Amazing
    On that same note, most toilets in SE Asia have a bidet (the little hose attached to the side of the toilet). This is meant for your booty-hole, and I am not going to lie… it’s refreshing as hell and WAY more hygienic than toilet paper. While this magical little hose works wonders, it is not inherently intuitive. After quite a bit of user error (see lesson #6) I learned that it is best to sit down, and spray up. Google it if you have any questions. If worst comes to worst, and the spicy food comes out of nowhere, use a bidet and drip dry until you get can home.
  8. People Love to Hookup in Hostels
    I guess I shouldn’t be surprised, it’s a fairly basic recipe. Take 1 part hot young people, 2 parts far away from home/in a foreign beautiful setting, and just a sprinkle of testosterone and you have a sexy cocktail reeking of hormones. Quick tip, a lot of hostels do not approve of dorm hookups, and while they do happen frequently you run the risk of getting kicked out. BUT ALEX RECOMMENDS THAT YOU DO IT ANYWAY ;) <— Added note from my editor and travel partner.
  9. Home is REALLY Far Away
    This one crept up on me, and it might be easier for most people if they have social media. However, it can be hard to keep in touch when you’re constantly meeting new people and going on adventures left and right. Pair that with a 13 hour time difference, and it is much harder to be available than you thought it would be. It’s not something you can really prepare for, just make sure your friends and family know how much you love them and set expectations up front that you may not be readily available. And most importantly, identify who you’re willing to be there for no matter what.

At the end of the day, all we can do is roll with the punches and hope we learn something new to share with the next round of newbie travelers. Until then, travel safely my friends.

--

--