Who am I?

Peckish human
4 min readJan 15, 2024

--

History

So I am Alok, born and raised in Meerut, Uttar Pradesh, India. I belong to a poor middle-class family.

From a very young age I had dreamed of doing something great and becoming rich, so in 8th class, joined the academy after getting influenced by a friend, at the same time, I thought it was a good career as it pays well + I love playing sports(Precisely cricket), so joined Gandhi bhag academy, practiced for around 1–2 years, running 7–7 round of grounds daily, going to the academy first, and coming back or leaving the ground last, but after working my best, tried everything, but my parents don’t want me to pursue the academy, so they never gave fees, proper equipment, diet, anything, somehow I improved my game, did everything, but I wasn’t able to see my future without proper funding from parents so left the academy

The day I gave up my hope of becoming a cricketer

I still remember that dark evening with Fog, everyone departed the ground except a few, some kids were practicing in nets, somewhere unlocking their bicycles and somewhere on a 22-yard pitch practicing shots, when I was sitting on the Stairs of the Pavillion I had a very simple thought, this way I won’t be able to do anything in life so I need to leave this,
Took Auto, came home finally announced to my mother I was leaving cricket forever, she was kind of happy because every middle or poor class has fear in mind, so that’s fine

After that lot of things happened, but from 6th-10th for consequent 5–6 years, I was rank holder in class, though now I don’t live by this concept of rank, award, etc. But still, it’s important as we are going through my journey

I wanted to bother, tease the teacher

In 8th class, I had a habit of teasing and bothering the teacher by asking a lot of questions

Though I started asking questions just to bother the teacher, later that proved to be the best mistake I ever did

Some hustle & many more stories

In 9th class using websites, I made Kodular apps and games. Those games, apps are my great memories

In the 10th class, I tried to sell a business model to an educator of unacademy, youtube

When I reflect on that story of selling a business model, I wonder why that fool even listened to me. why did he even watch my video (those shitty videos I recorded explaining business models), but a fine, great memory

While doing these side hustles, I kind of figured out roughly what kind of future I want for myself

In the 10th class, I scored 87% on the mark sheet, but on the pamphlet, it was 93%, this experience taught me the dark secret of the world and marketing that people will show you a great side of stuff, don’t get lured by it

Real Journey begins

In the 11th class I somehow got a laptop worth 28k, then learned Python in 1–2 days, I always wanted to make apps, So tried some frameworks like Kivy, but that didn’t go as planned

For some weeks I stopped writing code and started making YouTube videos, made around 70–80 videos, and one video even reached 1k views, I was super excited that day. Ah sigh, those memories

Then learned flutter, the first time that flutter code ran on my device, I was dancing

From 1st Jan, started making audiobooks, which I thought a YouTuber will going to purchase, No he never said I would purchase. I had not even discussed it with him, I thought I was a pretty smart kid I could easily sell anything. But this is not how the world works

I didn’t have a Google Play console(as I was from a poor family), so I thought I will go to buy a Play console with my money, I thought I would sell this app for 14k

Here are some screenshots from the development phase of the app:

So I uploaded this app on someone else console (that great man, thank you)

So one day, a person posted on Upwork he wanted someone to create an Audiobook app, I created a proposal and the deal happened, I got around 800$ (like a 16-year-old, 800$?) which was super relief to me

Screenshot of that Audiobook app :

After this, I tried doing a startup-made software Using which you can recommend your favorite content to others called Chirkut, I had only 10 users, me, my 5 family members, and 2–3 classmates, that’s it. So that was roughly about my past.

Present:

So currently, I am learning as much as possible about blockchain, AI, finance, economics, startups

Future:

So in the next 1 month, I am going to dropout and work in a bunch of startups as a flutter developer (front-end engineer), then learn more skills and diversify as an employee, and in the process, I will build some projects that can eventually turn into startup and just give me enough so that I can survive in this world and do more interesting and useful work

Thanks !!!!

--

--