Rejection is Redirection

Pedro Garcia
2 min readFeb 8, 2023

Rejection is as undeniable as the sun’s rise each and every morning.

Yet rejection spreads further than where it appears obvious. In fact, I’d argue that rejection is the most ignored micro-organism of human history. It lurks in the clothes of relationships, spreads in the hair of careers, crawls into the corners of family life, cultivates colonies underneath the eyes of spiritual journeys.

Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

Not too long ago, at a time where money was most crucial, I came to face the cruelty of rejection. Over 70 applications, only 1 interview. Kindly phrased rejection after kindly phrased rejection. My worth denied, my potential ignored, my spirits crushed.

Another personal friend tells me of his constant rejection in relationships. In the ever so human struggle to find one who we may relate with, he finds time and time again that there may be none who can relate at all. In this realization, the infinity of the universe can change from a place of undying potential, to all consuming loneliness.

Amidst all this I’ve recently come to the realization that rejection is just another of life’s many struggles. This provides me hope, for struggles are, from my observation, proportional to one’s potential. Those who are capable to understand every concept in the world with ease often find themselves struggling in areas where intelligence is not…

--

--