When an Injury Sets You Back on Your Correct Path

penguinswander
5 min readJun 1, 2019
Photo by Samia Liamani on Unsplash

On Wednesday I had a bad fall. I slipped despite wearing slip-resistant shoes. It wasn’t supposed to happen but it wasn’t completely unexpected. I had fallen and slipped other times in the last two months. Ceramic tile when wet becomes more slippery than the snow and ice I grew up with.

Past Injury Falling On Ice

One of my previous life injuries was a slip on ice walking to university years ago. That fall broke my scaphoid bone on my left hand. That’s a tiny bone that connects your thumb to your hand so that you can manipulate it. There was a good chance that it wouldn’t set correctly but it did. I had a cast encasing my arm hand and most of my thumb. Luckily I’m right handed. I didn’t realize that I had hurt myself so badly at the beginning. I had continued to the Computing Center. I knew there was something wrong when trying to hold a piece of paper in my left hand hurt. I phoned my dad (from a pay phone), and he came and picked me up. I don’t remember the x-ray or getting the cast on very clearly any more. I had to keep the plaster cast dry when I took my baths. I haven’t had a bath in years. Life has become far faster paced, and showers are the norm now. Being able to instantly connect to people now is also different from my boyfriend’s surprise when I greeted him at my door with my arm in a cast and sling.

--

--

penguinswander

Carolyn Pullman - Travel videographer emphasizing nature and art. #travel #nature #art #creativity #lifelessons. http://penguinswanderlust.com/