Ruminations on the Golden Rule

Penn Name
2 min readAug 16, 2017

“Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.” I’ve always found this overly simplistic. Maybe you have too. After all, any philosophy 101 student can pick this apart for you. What about the sadomasochist? I don’t want people running around the streets wearing leather and smacking people with riding crops. So much — I thought — for the golden rule. But given the recent events in Charlotteville, and the upcoming events throughout the country this week, I’ve begun to think that maybe we can only question basic things like the golden rule when things are going well. The further I descend Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs the more golden rule feels absolutely, well golden.

I’ve never been what any competent shrink or therapist would call “actualized”

Basic truths that I learned in grade school that I had the luxury of questioning ever since have come to fore and shaped my understanding and my decisions. Take World War II, the only way to have a nuanced discussion of America’s role in the war is to accept basic facts like Nazis suck. Now that this basic fact is being questioned by some I find myself clinging to the “Just War” narrative that I learned in grade school. No more nuance.

Ironically, or perhaps naturally, the rise of moral relativism and equivalency propagated by the Trump administration has left me so bewildered that I have not choice but to cling to the truths I once questioned. It’s hard for me to admit, but Trump has engaged in the same sophistry I use when discussing issues of importance with others. I hope one day But it turns out sophistry and clever thought experiments rely heavily on a shared understandings.

I have never experienced racism or discrimination. My worry for my safety is probably all neurosis, but it sure feels real. As I’ve descended the hierarchy I’ve lost all sense of nuance. The safer people feel the easier it is to see that golden rule isn’t the best way to gauge the morality of an act. I bought us tickets to Cirque du Soleil because I love clowns. When we’re safe we have the luxury of the sadomasochist critique. When our safety is at risk the golden rule is the a moral imperative. Assume everybody wants to feel safe. Help others who aren’t safe. When this is over, and sanity is restored, I’ll be the first buy all my friends tickets to the Pink Floyd laser show because that’s how I’d want to be treated.

--

--

Penn Name

I’m half way through an instructional book about becoming a humorist…can someone pay me now?