How applying Kobe Bryant’s “Mamba Mentality” can help fight cancer

Natalie Lyons
6 min readFeb 24, 2020

--

Anyone who has cancer knows it’s a battle. Cancer feels like a mind game to quickly separate the weak from the strong. The mental toll of cancer is so heavy, and at times it’s too heavy to bear. The stakes are high — life and death. It’s important to keep a healthy mindset.

So how do you maintain a healthy mindset while going through cancer? I’ve personally adopted Kobe Bryant’s mentality and it’s assisting me in my own battle with cancer. It’s helping me see a light in a tunnel of darkness. Kobe’s “Mamba Mentality” is a how-to guide to push through obstacles when all the cards are stacked against you.

Even in his death, people can still find healing in the words he left behind. Adapting his mindset is how we keep Kobe’s legacy alive.

“Mamba Mentality,” applies to both the basketball court and chemo chair. As a cancer patient, I’ve been told the battle will inflict more of a mental toll than a physical one. Doctors say keeping a positive mindset will help me fight through tough days. I found it very hard to maintain a winning attitude after my cancer diagnosis, until I invoked Kobe’s “Mamba Mentality.” His mantra means being on a quest to find the best version of yourself. For young cancer patients like me, it means finding the best version of yourself while going through the most difficult challenge. The “Mamba Mentality” is giving me the opportunity to put on my game face like Kobe and attack my opponents named cancer and chemo.

The “Mamba Mentality” stands on five pillars Kobe used as a recipe for success.

The first pillar is to be obsessive. For cancer patients, maintaining a healthy and active lifestyle is extremely important, especially for your mental health. For me, it’s helpful to be obsessed with doing all the research I can about my health. Read books and articles about the best foods to put into your own body. Sometimes it feels like you need to become your own doctor. Research and research again. Don’t be afraid to ask questions. You can be obsessed with yourself. Having cancer feels like a burden that is hard to lift, but you can handle this. It helps to reach out to friends and family, to take your mind off it, but don’t do it for too long.

In multiple interviews, Kobe talked about how his obsessiveness with basketball took time away from his friends. Kobe didn’t like to hang out aimlessly, because he believed it would distract him from his goals.

Be so obsessed with eating right, keeping up with appointments, and staying abreast of the best way to become a healthy person. When fighting through chemo act as if nothing else matters. Some of my friendships fell to the wayside — no one in my circle knows or is experiencing what I’m going through. I’m so obsessed with beating cancer, I don’t always have time to see friends. I stay focused on my goals. Of course, friends are needed to keep spirits up and seeing loved ones is highly encouraged, but I’ve made my health the main priority. Be obsessive and stay obsessed about fighting through chemo. Don’t be afraid to go into isolation to prepare yourself. I made sure to have a mental switch in my mind.

Cancer feels like a warzone, and chemo is my first battle.

The second pillar of the “Mamba Mentality” is to be passionate. Amid being obsessive about overcoming cancer, find something you are passionate about. Sharpen and practice your talents often.

Doctors tell patients going through chemo to continue with activities you enjoy. Whatever it is you care about deeply concentrate on it. Whether you love to dance, sing, or teach. Never lose your love for your passion. Keep your mind active and focused on whatever you love to do.

Kobe found his passion at an early age — basketball. He worked around the clock to become better.

For me, I have started writing again. I have always been a writer, but recently, I find it helps me cope with my diagnosis. Even with cancer, I write to become better every day. When you find your passion, make it your niche, work hard at it, prepare and be persistent.

Be fearless — the third pillar of the “Mamba Mentality.” Be fearless in your pursuit of health and wellness. Your mindset needs to be fearless to beat cancer. Kobe said the moment you decide to give up is the moment you let someone else win. The very moment you make a conscious effort to wallow in pity, fear will prevail. Sitting in the feelings of fear and anxiety can perpetuate a negative mindset — the opposite of fearlessness. You cannot and will not let a negative outlook win.

I had to change my thinking and prepare my mind to beat cancer. I realized I have already overcome the first hard part, the diagnosis. I learned to unpack my fears and doubts and embraced a fearless mindset.

Kobe said his teacher would tell his class: “Rest at the end, not in the middle.” I remind myself of this every day. Do not rest in the middle but rest when the trial or test is over.

Having cancer makes me feel exhausted all the time, and it’s very difficult to finish tasks. After days of not feeling well, I got tired of resting in the middle of completing a task, and never being able to accomplish anything. After not seeing results, I changed my mindset and began to push myself when things got hard. Even though I start to feel tired when doing the dishes because my hands and feet tingle from nerve damage, I think, “Rest in the end, not in the middle.”

When you become relentless, you become unstoppable. When you push yourself, you have the strength to achieve. Push to be relentless when the days seem long and tough. Push yourself to accomplish daily goals.

Being resilient is the final step of the “Mamba Mentality.”

Resiliency is standing strong in the face of adversity. You are already showing this strength by making the first decision to heal your body by undergoing chemo. Coming out on the other side of treatment will make you stronger. After the war of treatment is over, victory is yours.

Chemo is going to knock you down. What matters is how you get back up. It’s about having the ability to bounce back quickly. Yes, you are sick, and dealing with a life-altering situation, but you will become healthy in the end. You will have looked at cancer in the eyes and overcame what could have been death. This is being resilient.

Finding out you have cancer is scary and making the choice to have surgery and undergo chemo is even scarier because the effects on your body are unknown.

Always remember the messages Kobe left us. Remember that this obstacle will not define you, pain is temporary, and the moment you give up, is the moment you let someone else win.

When people think of Kobe, they think of a sports icon gone too soon. But what if Kobe already completed his mission on earth? He left behind his winner’s mindset and work ethic for all to emulate. He taught us how to navigate life challenges by being obsessive, passionate, fearless, relentless, and resilient. His mindset shows how cancer and chemo patients can cope with their diagnosis by maintaining a strong and positive mindset.

Kobe’s determination to win, his drive to be the best, and his tenacity to annihilate any obstacle in his path, not only applies to the basketball court but also to the court of life. I’m living by Kobe’s example, fighting hard to the last day of my treatment. When I beat my opponent, chemo, I will leave undefeated and say, “Mamba out”.

--

--