Why I Quit Mailchimp

Penny Zang
Writing 101
Published in
4 min readFeb 3, 2020

--

And how I switched to Flodesk

Photo by NeONBRAND on Unsplash

Note: This story is not to bash Mailchimp. I know many people who use it and really love the site. My experience is just my own personal account.

When I first started adding subscribers to my email list, I was overwhelmingly unprepared. I had asked Twitter if anyone wanted to sign up, not expecting anyone to click on the link. Sometimes it just turns out that all you have to do is ask. Subscribers, many friends and family, but also strangers, signed up within minutes. I had to quickly create a “welcome email” and make sure my website’s email management was well-organized.

It did not take me long to realize that I needed a better system for organizing subscribers, sending emails, and tracking the emails I sent. Mailchimp was the obvious selection. It is well known and free (if you have less than 2,000 subscribers). I signed up without delay.

What happened over the next few weeks wasn’t traumatic or catastrophic, but it certainly was stressful and frustrating. In the end, I am (mostly) happy with my decisions and eager to share how it worked out for me.

Spoiler alert: I am no longer using Mailchimp. Instead, I have switched to Flodesk. I have a link for a 50% off code at the bottom of the email if you’re interested.

My problems with Mailchimp

--

--

Penny Zang
Writing 101

English professor in SC and book nerd. Debut novel: Doll Parts, forthcoming from Sourcebooks, 2025.