In response to the feedback we’ve received from our community, we’re rolling out two changes to groups: closed groups and group invites that allow you to choose which groups you join.
Closed groups allow the creator of a group to be its sole administrator, meaning that only the administrator will be able to add or remove members and change the group title. To create a closed group or close a group after creating it, turn on the “closed group” setting from the management screen. If a group is closed, you will see this next to the group title.
We’re also giving you the choice to accept or decline group invites; you’ll no longer get added to a group automatically. You can opt into this change by turning off the “Auto-accept Group Invites” setting in your profile. If you opt-out of automatically joining groups, you won’t see any notifications in that group until you accept the invite to join. You can always make changes to groups in Settings under Notifications.
Look for these changes on Android and iOS this week. If you have any questions or feedback on the updates to groups, please reach out to us here: https://periscope.tv/i/contact.