The Easiest, Yummiest Leftover Mashed Potato Soup Ever

Perky Bird Gets The Worm
2 min readNov 28, 2023

Seriously…I just threw this together in 3 minutes.

pc: giphy

If you’re anything like me, you do not have the ability to make an appropriate amount of mashed potatoes for Thanksgiving.

We had two days’ worth of leftover turkey, two days’ worth of stuffing and sweet potato casserole and rolls, and apparently I prepared for the Great Potato Famine of 2024 with the mashed potatoes.

Obviously, any pie was gone in 24 hours flat.

This happens every year.

pc: giphy

And thus I give you, the easiest potato soup recipe ever:

  • Leftover mashed potatoes (I’m guesstimating we had about 4–5 cups)
  • Chicken broth (I used a 32 oz. carton, but you can gauge up or down depending on how many mashed potatoes you had leftover and how thick you like your soup)
  • 1 Tbsp. Old Bay Seasoning
  • Dash of garlic powder
  • Salt, pepper, cream, and butter to taste if it wasn’t already mixed into your mashed potatoes (And if it wasn’t, I’m so sorry)

--

--

Perky Bird Gets The Worm

Neurodivergent | Recovering Perfectionist | Dog Mom | Kid Mom | Snark with Occasional Substance | https://msha.ke/karenakins