Little India

Singapore

AstroShaman 🎒 Pernell Bobby
6 min readFeb 13, 2019

San Diego, California

has an ethnic area designed around the culture of India with a variety of cuisines & a pale attempt at creating an authentic experience of cultural diffusion, most likely because of the 8,900 miles [14,277 km] between coordinates. The streets are extremely clean & relatively “posh” presumably due to insurmountable amounts of capital circulating through this coastal American beach city at the edge of Mexico & the Pacific Ocean. Though, there’s a world of differences between Little India in the states vs. Singapore, a metropolis that’s just north of Indonesia with a currency nearly equivalent to the Euro or USD. It’s unfathomable how well this city has positioned itself in the modern economy considering the remainder of SEA [South East Asia] still strives on tourism from the western world.

Singapore

is well known for being sparkling clean with potentially the most convenient airport in the world hosting free tours around the beautiful landscape of the Super Tree Grove in the Garden by the Bay, baggage storage for frequent 6+ hour layovers to explore, movies in the entertainment area, standing computers for free internet use & more. For me, this was essential considering I couldn’t remember by Thai phone number to log into the Wi-Fi & my American number has been discontinued for the past 4 months. I was able to still contact family via Facebook messenger & eventually send a verification code home that allowed me to connect in the airport to start managing my clients sending out workout demonstrations, going live via Instagram to teach three travel tips [Below] & LyFe Lessons. My main service, it allows travelers to stay physically and mentally fit to evolve from the 9–5 primitive mindset & create funds remotely using their individualized passion — LyFe Lessons. What’s most important about this service is I’m living the lifestyle that I’m promoting meaning after a short self-instructed yoga session it was adventure time!

Eventually, I left Changi International Airport via MRT a sophisticated railway system that’s inexpensive [$2 SGD-$4SGD] and efficient even for first-time riders like myself, I was able to interchange between lines by viewing the map alone. Considering Wi-Fi wasn’t as readily available everywhere like Chiang Mai, Thailand the #1 Digital Nomad Hub where I reside. I was grateful that I didn’t need to use Uber or Grab considering I didn’t have service and could rely primarily on the subway that was clean & thankfully not overcrowded like NYC. That’s right! I didn’t find it necessary to purchase a Sims card for [$18 USD] for my twelve-hour layover & decided to skip the free tour [2.5 hours long] and venture on my own, unfortunately with my laptop in my hand. The baggage storage refused to assume responsibility understandably, something to remember for next time. I’m grateful that I didn’t let this unexpected denial stop my excursion through Singapore to learn the culture and comprehend the hype behind this super modern SEA [Southeast Asia] city. I admit I was relatively frustrated during this moment after random inspections that were excessive in my opinion compared to the others I witnessed and 12 hours of travel prior via overnight bus, railways through Bangkok & city buses combined before my flight through Bangkok. I took a few deep breaths, meditated and coached myself through my current exhaustion and misery to fail forwards and investigate new territory.

In due time after site-seeing, I made my way to Little India & I was not disappointed, in fact, I felt like I was in a new world compared to the rest of the city. There was street food, vibrant colors, markets and shops down the main roads. Without surprise, I may have been the only person who wasn’t Indian minus a few Chinese, but what I loved most was everyone looked me in my eyes even when they didn’t smile. This may have been my fault considering I had the mean-mug curious face understanding I’m in foreign terrain looking like a tourist in the one community where it wasn’t as overtly friendly, the streets were cracked and everyone stared at me. It could have been because I was the only African darker than everyone else, the current frequency I vibrated at knowing I have loved ones that need me to make it home one day or because I was wearing a rainbow-colored satchel with an elephant printed and a Mac Book laptop in hand. I tend to charter off the path laid for tourist to dig deeper into what makes each community circulate and understand the vibe, hint the initial “This ain’t what you want face.” Eventually, I warmed up, smiled more, and became chipper socializing freely once I assessed my environment appropriately. The people were very friendly, different than Thailand naturally, but misunderstood I felt more than anything else. This experience only increased my desire to visit India and dive deeper into the culture to see what their society is all about.

Little India,

was a great introduction to the way of life & I’m blessed to find the courage to continue my journey past my initial caution and skepticism. There was however a decent blend with the Chinese in the more touristy restaurants with higher prices where I did invest in a chickpea black bean burger, primarily because it was the only place I found Wi-Fi after hours of walking. These two cultures make up the majority of Singapore, but it was the Chinese New Year so this could have affected the standard. I really wish I ventured into China Town but I, unfortunately, steered away from it at first after an American resident of Singapore gestured that everyone went home to Mainland China and many shops were closed. Although, while I was having that delicious burger two Canadians suggested otherwise and I should’ve known better than to rely on others, as my opinion and standards generally differ from many. However, it was dark now, China Town was the opposite direction from the airport, my fatigue set in heavy with foot pain, exhaustion and an executive decision to follow my intuition to head back to Changi.

Best choice ever

The lesson here is to follow your gut when traveling because I wouldn’t have enjoyed China Town in my current state and I don’t believe quantity was more relevant than the quality of truly diving into Little India. Not only that but all of my equipment was dead [phone & laptop] and I didn’t realize I needed a converter here so it was more important to recharge at the airport and to be able to edit video content and then write this blog on my thirteen-hour flight to Berlin! Another new city! This time with two weeks to explore, then to speak at an engagement, record a seven-series podcast on emotional intelligence via travel. I’ll be able to share tools/tricks to budget on escapades and the importance of physical wellness during it all. Before I plunge into Berlin on the next blog there’s one last thing I want to share my experience in Little India.

There were two main temples where you traditionally remove your shoes to enter what I presume was Hinduism. The locals gathered around [That Square] laughing and drinking, but only between 7 am — 7 pm centralized to Little India only, the rest of Singapore could purchase alcohol until 10:30 pm. What I appreciated most was how open the culture was to homosexuality, this was a surprise I did not expect in Indian culture. To my ignorance, I supposed it was more forbidden, but I strongly believe the modern city of Singapore socially accepts people for their true selves which I’ve noticed briefly in the Chinese setting as well here knowing their culture is generally more closed off to much of modern evolution with sexuality, technology and more.

Originally published at www.lyfeinstitute.com.

--

--

AstroShaman 🎒 Pernell Bobby

AstroShaman 🎒 Pernell Bobby 🏔️ Inspiring Brillance via Spiritual Accountability & Esoteric Surgery 📚 Every 1st & 3rd Sunday 🥋 10am CST 🎒 Membership Meets ♒