Writing and mental illness

Personality Borderline
1 min readAug 13, 2019

--

When it all gets too much, my pen and paper are always there to support me. The inevitable overwhelming thoughts and feelings consume and I can rely on them to provide some sort of rescue to gain a level of control that I need. It also functions as a snapshot to a period I feel I need to constantly reflect on. Not that I do very often, but to know it’s there reassures me that I have been through what I feel inside.

Writing has helped me to cope with the disorder that often takes over and demonstrates that I am different. Writing it down makes it real and gives a sense of clarity, so that I can try to understand and prevent the feeling of differentiation. It has hugged me when I couldn’t find the words to communicate to anyone else.

Writing makes it possible for me to grow and develop, so that I can help myself and others to explain and accept.

--

--