Did Apple Just Kill the iPhone?

10 major problems that I’ve found with my iPhone 14

Pete Matheson
10 min readDec 24, 2022

The iPhone 14 is the first iPhone that I can remember that I don’t think you should bother upgrading to.

It’s almost like the encore to the iPhone 13 instead of a whole new song.

I’ve owned the iPhone 14 Pro Max for a couple of months; there are ten major issues that I’ve seen which make me regret this purchase.

Battery Life

First up is Battery Life. The iPhone 13 Pro Max already holds the prize for the absolute battery king when it comes to smartphones, so you’d think that the battery life on the iPhone 14 Pro Max would surely surpass that of the 13.

But in my experience, you’d be wrong.

Firstly it might be because of the admittedly beautiful implementation of an Always On Display, which does give you access to an ever-growing number of widgets without needing to pick up and unlock your phone.

And by switching the always-on display off, you can indeed get some additional hours of battery life from your phone.

However, even if you did that, and in my experience of having one since launch day, I’m actually finding that I’m still burning through the battery faster than I’d like to think. Considering the iPhone 13 is a phone that should comfortably get you through a full 2 days without charging and without messing around with settings that can reduce power…

--

--