Stressed into Procrastination?

Peter Gruner
2 min readOct 27, 2021

--

Woman procrastinating at her laptop
Photo by Magnet.me on Unsplash

I was reading The 5 Second Rule by Mel Robbins. She mentioned how sometimes procrastination causes stress. I never really thought of it that way, but it makes sense.

I was procrastinating on writing this post and I realized that I was a bit stressed about what to write. But because I need to write this post TODAY, I couldn’t waste too much time procrastinating.

It’s funny though. I had picked another topic to write about but I was second guessing whether to work on it. And then I was running through other topics. Weighing and discarding ideas.

It took me a while to realize… I was procrastinating! And after a bit of thought, I realized picking today’s topic was stressing me out.

Doh!

Stressed about writing this post. And once I realized it, I decided on the post to write and stayed focused on it. Whew! Mischief Managed!

But you might stress about something else unrelated to what you want to do. And it could be having a similar effect. Causing you to procrastinate. Inviting in Resistance.

Worried about your finances? Or your health? Or your relationships? It could be something specific or general.

But it’s seeping into your unconscious. Throwing roadblocks into getting things done.

You don’t need to resolve the things causing you stress to push through the Resistance. Or to move out of procrastination.

But it helps if you acknowledge it.

If you can do something about the issue right now, then do it.

In most cases you won’t be able to do something immediately. So acknowledge it and then focus on the task you’re trying to do.

Start it.

Action always helps with procrastination. Even a tiny action is a step in the right direction.

--

--

Peter Gruner

Hmm. Bio under development. I love hanging out with family and friends, eating all kinds of food, watching TV, reading, and occasionally writing.