Tim Ferris Ruined My Life

Peter Gruner
2 min readNov 2, 2021

--

Photo by Johnny Cohen on Unsplash

I used to hate my job. I’m talking about the job I did for 22 years working in IT.

(Not the job I’m doing now, working in IT…)

Back then, I found my job to be soul-crushing. I hated it but I did it to support my family.

And then about twelve years ago, I read the book The 4-Hour Work Week. Tim Ferris showed me how people around the world were embracing the gig economy. Becoming digital nomads.

There was a way out of the nine-to-five rat race. Instead of waiting until I was 65 to retire, I could do mini-retirements while I was still young.

Except…

I didn’t have any great ideas for products.

I didn’t have any savings to become a franchisee.

And I was too scared to go out on my own and embark on a journey into entrepreneurship.

I was a kid that didn’t have any money to get into the amusement park. And I imagined all those people giving up their day jobs and doing things they wanted to do. Having fun. And getting paid to do things they felt passionate about.

Fear was the real thing holding me back.

And then something wonderful happened. I got outsourced. I was out of work. Now, I could try some of the ideas from The 4-Hour Work Week

But I didn’t.

I made some half-hearted attempts to try something different. But it’s the idea of hustling for work. Trying to get hired.

I felt too desperate. Too scared.

Fear continued to hold me back. Resistance whispered in my ear and I caved.

Fear and Resistance still hold me back. I got another job.

And it’s crazy! Because I know that I didn’t have to jump full in. I could test the waters. I could do a side hustle.

I could start small.

But I don’t.

That’s the killer. Knowing that there is another way. A better way? Maybe… Maybe not. But I won’t know for sure unless I try.

And I’m still in a great position. I have a full-time job. I could try something on the side and if it doesn’t work, I still have my regular income.

I’m like the kid waiting for the right moment to jump on the merry-go-round. You have to jump on at the right time.

Now?

How about now?

It keeps turning and I keep watching, but not acting.

Darn it, Tim! You’ve shown me a path I want to explore, but I’m too darn scared to try!!

--

--

Peter Gruner

Hmm. Bio under development. I love hanging out with family and friends, eating all kinds of food, watching TV, reading, and occasionally writing.