Wrestling Billy Kidman

Peter Gruner
2 min readOct 29, 2021

--

Photo by Jason Pofahl on Unsplash

Billy Kidman was a professional wrestler in World Championship Wrestling in the late 1990’s and early 2000’s.

I don’t know Billy Kidman. I’ve never met him. I’ve never spoken to him.

But I’ve been wrestling with him for years.

It’s a one-sided wrestle. And I’m losing.

You see, Billy Kidman’s real name is Peter Gruner. It’s actually Peter Alan Gruner, Jr. But if you Google “Peter Gruner”, Billy Kidman is the first thing that pops up.

It drives me crazy!

I don’t expect to be the first “Peter Gruner” that pops up in a Google search. It doesn’t have to be me. There seems to be a lot of us Peter Gruners out there. But I would like an actual Peter Gruner to show up.

Someone who goes by the name Peter Gruner. Like some guy from Germany or something.

But Billy Kidman keeps coming up.

I’m especially touchy about this issue because my father’s name was Peter Gruner, too. My Dad was Peter Hamilton Gruner and I’m Peter Cameron Gruner. So, I had to deal with confusion between my name and other people who share it my whole life.

Of course, it’s not like people are going to confuse Billy and me. Wait, that’s not true.

Someone called “wrestlingirl” emailed me a couple of times in the early days of the internet. It was only years later that I realized the emails were for Billy, not me.

And when I say I’m wrestling with Billy, I mean that I’m wresting for my name. At one point, I was posting a lot and for a brief moment my name was above his in internet searches.

But the Google picture was always of Billy.

Is it too much to ask him to just use one name? It’s not fair.

If you Google “Billy Kidman”, Billy shows up. If you Google “Peter Gruner”, Billy shows up.

I’m fighting an uphill battle against a celebrity who has tons of fans. (Sorry, Billy. I don’t know anything about wresting so can’t say for sure, but I assume you have lots of fans.)

I keep slugging away though. By posting things on the internet. Hoping to sway the search engines into equating me with the top Peter Gruner.

Cue the Star Trek battle music!

Will the real Peter Gruner please step forward…

--

--

Peter Gruner

Hmm. Bio under development. I love hanging out with family and friends, eating all kinds of food, watching TV, reading, and occasionally writing.