How to connect with new friends at Creative South 2018.

Peter Deltondo
3 min readApr 9, 2018

Every year I meet all these amazing individuals at Creative South and I do my best to connect online with everyone after the event. I always preach about connecting with people on a personal level, not just admiring or talking to someone about their work. That’s how real connections are formed in our industry and social media (even with it’s flaws) is a great way to keep up with peoples and celebrate or support them as we all do life together.

Facebook has always done an insanely good job at providing a robust “recommended friends” list right after the event every year (recent news may explain why they are so frighteningly accurate). Yet year after year, a few months go by and I’ll randomly stumble across someone from the event or worse the connection is lost and we’ve forgotten the names of everyone that was having that wonderful conversation in the bar with the random red slide in it (true story, Chris, Lisa, Molly and I all reconnected later, story had a good ending and laugh!). So how can I fix this?

This has been something I’ve wanted to make and share with you all for years and it always got lost in the giant to-do-list I have for Creative South the month before. Instead of digging through Facebook’s recommended lists, diving deep into Twitter or Instagram hashtags, or trying to recognize or remember work on Dribbble or Behance, what if there was just a sea of that Creative South peachy goodness in our feeds?

A recognizable profile image overlay all attendees can help recognize each other by.

An easy to use profile image overlay that we could quickly upload to all of our social accounts to easily know the following:

  1. Who will I see in a few days?
  2. Who is here now?
  3. Who did I meet at the conference after we’ve all gone home?

So… will you join me and change your profile photos starting today and leave them on for perhaps a week or two after the conference ends? I’d really love to follow along with the 900 amazing folks headed out to Columbus, GA this week. I’ve had the pleasure of getting to know a good number of you over the years, but there’s a lot of new faces joining the “CS Family” this year, so let’s show them what our community is all about and get connected.

Profile Image Overlay Download Link:

You can download the file here: http://pde.lt/qjTS. It’s just a PNG overlay to toss on top of a profile photo of your choosing in your design tool of choice, optimized for circular avatars (since that’s pretty much what everything uses these days).

P.S. If it’s your first time and you don’t know anyone, please come find me and say hello. I’d love to meet you and introduce you to some folks. Follow me on any FB/TW/IG/etc @peterdeltondo and if you DM me your cell # I’ll send you mine and we can make sure to connect. I’ll be working in the lobby of the Downton Marriott most of Wednesday so come say hello and let’s hang out.

P.P.S. Bucket826 (Mike Jones) is hard to miss, but I’m like his way smaller, somewhat skinnier, arguably better looking, little brother. Make sure to come say hi!

If you missed the download link above, you can use this image as well ;).

--

--

Peter Deltondo

Believer, Devoted Husband & Father, Creative Director & UI/UX Director. Co-Host @creativesouthga. Available for work at www.peterdeltondo.com/contact