David Blaine: How I held my breath for 17 minutes

Peter Han
1 min readSep 9, 2015

Sometimes we underestimate ourselves and forget what we’re capable of accomplishing. We settle for what we know is possible and we use other peoples achievements to set our limits. I ran into an old TedTalks video, I watched a few years back, about David Blaine. He speaks of his ventures and one in particular is successfully holding his breath longer than any human being has ever had.

Listening to someone who risks his life on multiple occasions to challenge the impossible is quite refreshing. It has me rethink the scope of my goals and what I’m capable of fulfilling. However, we have to acknowledge the large amounts of dedication, pain, and persistence that went into the entire process. We don’t have more people like David because we want success without any form of hard work. The most powerful moments of his speech were his reflections on the many trial and errors and his failed attempts. We generally fear any sort of rejection or failure, but I believe success is inevitable without some form of failure.

David Blaine’s talk is very inspiring and definitely worth a watch.

--

--