Peter Mwanza
7 min readApr 14, 2020

--

Music Took Me through Hell, but It Brought Me to Paradise: Tony M Fountain

“Today is going to be different,” I think to myself as I look in the mirror. My eyes are red, and my scrawny face tells a tale of woe. I was up till 3 in the morning. Now its 6 am, and I’m running late for work. I’m a single dad. I’m a truck driver by day and a music enthusiast by night. I hope for better days.

This is the story of Tony M Fountain, the founder of NOW Entertainment. He was the man before the mirror, battling despair early in the morning two decades ago. He wasn’t really a truck driver, or a janitor or anything; he bounced from work to work. The only thing he had was an artistic fire in his heart, and the desire to be a better father to his kids. That meant working 70 hours a week in construction, at mental institutions and even selling drugs, anything to bring home the bacon.

A swim in the lake of fire

And as a single dad, he also had to be there for his son and daughter. He changed diapers, held them as they puked through fevers and followed up on their school work. It was enough to drive a man insane, he says. Thankfully, he had friends that he could rely on, and as they say, it takes a village to raise a child.

“I look around at what I have now, and it’s humbling. NOW Entertainment has blossomed into a full media company from a silly idea in a drug slinging-odd jobber’s…

--

--

Peter Mwanza
0 Followers

Freelance writer from Nairobi. Bylines in various Publications.