I’ve been coding for almost a year, here’s one lesson I’ve learned.

Peterochieng
2 min readAug 10, 2023

--

It’s somewhat surreal to think that I began my coding/programming journey close to a year ago, September 1st 2022 to be precise. It’s certainly been one hell of a ride from learning basic HTML and CSS and gradually progressing towards a more complex technology JavaScript. When I first began learning HTML and CSS there were moments where I was freaking out when building basic webpages only using HTML and CSS. I was completely stressed over what I now see as minor and to some degree insignificant issues; things such as not knowing what CSS syntax I should use to adjust the margin around my elements, small issues right? 😅. Reflecting back on these kinds of experiences has made me realize that anxiousness is never the best emotion to exude when feeling “stuck” while coding.

What’s really helped me whenever I feel “stuck” is reiterating to myself that with patience and enough time spent on a project I will eventually figure out the solution to the problem I am trying to fix. This is something I’ve just began to master over the last 3 months by building different Javascript projects and troubleshooting my code to see why the different applications I was building at the time weren’t working. So if you’re reading this and you’re just beginning your coding journey and are anxious about not knowing how to solve what ever problem you’re encountering, don’t be anxious be patient b/c with enough time invested in the project you’re working on or technology you’re learning you’ll figure things out!

--

--