30 Thoughts I Had in Japan (with Pictures)

Peter Yang
6 min readFeb 3, 2016

I recently returned from a two week trip to Japan. Since then, many people have asked me for advice on where to go, what to do, and most importantly, what to eat. I’m just a first time visitor, but here are 30 thoughts that I had while visiting this amazing country:

If you enjoyed this story, I would love to connect on Twitter.

Tokyo

1. Why is everyone so nice?

2. I’m so glad I bought a JR Pass before I came here.

3. Why are there so many people at Meiji Shrine today (January 3)? Oh… that’s when thousands of people come to pray for good luck after the new year…

Meiji Shrine during New Years

4. Is Mutekiya rated #1 on TripAdvisor for Tokyo ramen because they print their name on the seaweed?

Mutekiya’s perfect bowl of tonkotsu ramen.

5. If I had a dream about 90s video games and anime, it will be like Akihabara.

--

--

Peter Yang

Product Lead @ Credit Karma. Ex-Twitch, Twitter, Facebook. I wrote a best-selling book for new product managers — get a free chapter at www.principles.pm