Men @ Work: A world “named” for women

How I had to change “my google search”

Peter
2 min readSep 20, 2017

Once I started into my parental leave, I had a look at things you could do and tools that could come in handy. Pretty soon I noticed that searching for anything with “dad” would not get me very far. Either you search will return zero results or events will be scheduled during the weekend. Breakfast for kids with their dads: Saturday morning; swimming for kids with dads: Saturday afternoon….

Once I changed my keyword and looked for “mom”, a whole new world opened up. The local meetup operated by the city is called “Müttertreff” (mommy meetup) although dads are more than welcome. The app to trade clothes for kids is called “Mamikreisel” and the small boutique that sells baby carriers is called “MamaMotion”. (Ironically they explicitly sell a product that enables men to carry the baby as well with their jacket.) And that list goes on and on.

I do see that you target offerings to your main audience but if we want to build a society where dads take family time more serious, we might just start with a simple thing such as naming offerings more inclusively.

Sometimes its the little things that can make a difference! Happily looking for more examples — prove me right or wrong ;-)

Copyright for the pic.

--

--