Cleveland, Texas

Bill P
3 min readMay 11, 2024

--

Cleveland Texas population: 9,500 and increasing
Cleveland Ohio population: 350,000 and declining

Cleveland, TX is named after Judge Charles Lander Cleveland who in 1836 sold 63 acres of land to the railway in exchange for having his name on the station. Cleveland, OH is named after General Moses Cleveland and was incorporated in 1836. Even though both cities started at almost the exact same time, the trajectories varied greatly. However, with the decline of Cleveland Ohio and the growth of Cleveland Texas I wonder if they’ll eventually have similar populations.

Cleveland is northwest of Houston along Hwy 59. We drove around a bit but never found much of an old-style downtown area. There were some main roads which were busy and had businesses and government entities spread around, but nothing we noticed which would be walkable.

The post office clerk was reasonably nice. There were a few people in line behind me so after buying some stamps he let me use the stamp to apply the hand cancellations myself which was really good since I could place them where I wanted. I was even able to get a pretty clear cancellation for the collection:

Cleveland TX Postmark
Cleveland Post Office
Texas Theater Mural
Cleveland Water Tower

I had reached out to the Destination Cleveland Center via email and they were extremely helpful in sending me some Cleveland Postcards. If you happen to be in Cleveland, check them out and tell them “Thanks!” for me!

--

--