About Me — Phil Perez

Phil Perez
3 min readApr 11, 2024

--

Discovering My Passion for Writing

If you had asked me 15 years ago if I could see myself as a writer, I would have said it was highly unlikely.

A Troubled Start

If I rewind back to my teenage years (sorry for the cliché…), All I remember is that my teachers were hostile whenever I tried to write. I think it was because I was a bit of a troublemaker. So, I got bad grades, no matter how good my homework was.

I once memorized a textbook word for word to prove I wasn’t being given a fair chance and still failed…

Which was kind of weird, considering I won a city-wide writing contest before high school.

I was featured in the local newspaper and was even invited to City Hall to receive an award…

A New Chapter

Anyway, eventually, I got sick of the criticism and moved on from writing, never to look back. That was until I started my first business in my mid-twenties.

Embracing Copywriting

This was around the time Flakebook rolled out its advertising platform, and content was king.

I remembered the heydays when everyone said my writing sucked. So, I outsourced my content.

But the quality was so bad each time it came back I had to pay an editor to fix it.

I thought, how are these guys so confident in their writing, and I’m not?

So, I decided to reinvest that money instead.

Writing Authentically

Thus began my journey into copywriting, where I discovered all the greats (Dan Kennedy, Gary Bencivenga, Joe Sugarman, Bob Bly, etc… to name a few).

I spent my cold, hard cash on copywriting education and realized that all my old haters were wrong!

Sure, there’s a place for scholar-level writing. However, the writing I pursued was more about authenticity and connecting with the reader.

This is especially true today.

So many tools and AI apps do it all for you.

I swear, it's all AI whenever I’m on social media or reading a blog post.

All of it! Well, maybe it's about 80-90% or something.

It doesn’t even sound human anymore.

Maybe it’s all just a numbers game for them, or they’re doing it for SEO or affiliate marketing, etc.

Writing Philosophy

My philosophy comes from copywriting legend David Garfinkel.

He said something along the lines of writing from the heart.

Write like you’re talking to your mom.

Stop when you catch yourself trying to be a “good writer.”

Granted, my humor can be a wee dark and offensive at times. So, I’ll pretend like I’m writing to my friends (the ones who get my humor).

Content Focus

I mainly write about business. I cover marketing, systems, productivity, and success.

Given my talk about AI, this is ironic…

I know, but you’ll soon understand how and when to use it.

I also occasionally write about health and fitness, as I believe they’re pillars of my success, and I enjoy seeing people reach their potential.

That’s all for now.

If you like what I’m about, follow me here on Medium or X, formally known as Twitter; I like to write daily.

Thanks for reading!

https://twitter.com/realphilperez

--

--