Improvise. Adapt. Overcome.

Philip Mwalukuku Kalela
1 min readNov 27, 2017

--

My journey at the Bootcamp has been one huge test of adaptability and endurance. Day one of week one had me waste more than half of the day. Overwhelmed by the amount of content. The Bootcamp was both a marathon and a sprint, not for the faint of heart. I had to think fast.

Being a complete coding beginner, I felt left behind seeing as how almost everyone else had a little more experience. I had to figure out a way to get better. I added more time to my daily workday, cutting down on all the ‘precious movie time’ and some of my loudest friends. Soon enough, I was covering ground.

Being in the second week of the Bootcamp, I have mainly adapted to the speed required to do work in Andela. I have adapted to the general vibe here. And of course, being knowledgeable allows me to have better intuitive conversations with teammates.

Adaptability is the ability to react accordingly when faced with a difficult or rather different situation. Having an open mind is key to adapting, so is self knowledge.

Adaptability is almost as important as the knowledge someone gains. With an adaptable mind-set, one can easily mold their knowledge to its required form.

--

--