Philipp Gunther
1 min readNov 20, 2018

--

Hi Gael,

First of all, great project.I just donated at e.foundation and encourage everyone to do the same who wants to see this project succeed.

I have two questions if I may.

  1. I feel that tracking and fingerprinting through one’s browser is one of the most pertinent threats to online privacy. Other than de-googling I would have thought it’s also necessary to prevent cross site tracking by facebook (even if not logged in), ad networks and the like. Your average mom and pop will probably not be able to get the right mix of extensions (such as ublock, canvas fingerprinting blocker, java script readout tweaks, user agent normaliser and so on) and it can be quite a science not to overlook anything that will allow the trackers to connect the dots on you after all. What’s eelo’s view on this?
  2. What’s your view on security updates to the phone eelo is being installed to? My thinking was that the phone should not be end of lifed / still be getting security updates to its baseband for a good while because those will be picked up by lineageOS, and therefore by eelo (but please correct me if I’m wrong). In that context I was looking at the list of supported devices at https://e.foundation/img/supporteddevices.txt which appears to be more comprehensive than the list that’s on gitlab, to identify the most current devices.

Cheers
P

--

--