7 Weird Things That Happen In Your First 3 Years Of Not Drinking Alcohol

Phil Roberts
4 min readAug 8, 2022

While the decision to give up alcohol permanently has its benefits, there are specific side effects that you may need to get used to.

Here's what happened when I quit drinking alcohol, and it's now been 3 years.

I was going to die, so there was a reason. I didn’t decide just to stop it.

But after that life-prolonging decision was made, there were a few hours of rejoicing from my friends, who then disappeared quickly, probably because they didn't want to deal with me all the time.

I mean, they still drank.

As for me, my mood was elevated, as I no longer felt that I had to drink alcohol, and it didn't feel like I was missing out on anything.

But the side effects are just weird.

7. You start to get the hang of cooking

It's not that you were terrible at it before, but when you're drinking wine, cooking is… kind of a chore.

You need food in your belly, and it’s just…

--

--

Phil Roberts

Author of The Imposter Syndrome On Audible I Radio Presenter @ Cheshire's Mix 56 I N.L.P Coach l Contact :phil@philrobertsmedia.com