I Hate My Personality Type

A Journey Out of Depression
6 min readJan 17, 2024

Have you ever taken a Myers-Briggs personality type test? If not, there are several good outfits, such as https://www.16personalities.com/ that will give you a free sampling. The real test is more expensive, but many of the free tests are relatively accurate and will at least get you started learning about your type.

The purpose of these tests is to learn about your preferences in interactions, how you acquire knowledge, strengths, weaknesses, and so on. The whole point of these tests is to learn a little more about yourself and grow. There’s no wrong answers, and no type is smarter, better, etc than any other type. It’s about preferences.

The types are pretty well fixed in stone- you don’t change personality types, but you can work to develop the strengths and overcome the weaknesses. It also gives a little insight into learning styles, which may be able to help you learn more quickly, permanently and easily.

I never seem to be able to do that- I hate my type. More on that in a minute.

Myers-Briggs Test

The test itself compares four qualities and rates you on a spectrum from one end or the other. If the preferences are over 50%, you are assigned the letter that corresponds to this type.

E vs. I

The first category is extroversion. It’s pretty straight-forward; introverts get an I, and extroverts get an E, and if you don’t know which you are, the questions will clear this up.

--

--

A Journey Out of Depression

I'm nobody, really. Just your average middle-aged, white guy that works in academia; an engineer, but atypical. These writing are in search of my purpose.