--

My porker date

"When she came to my door the next evening, I was shocked; horrified actually! She was fat, really fat, probably twenty pounds heavier than me! I was stunned; I couldn’t think straight. It had never occurred to me that a fat girl might ask me out!

I picked up my French books and went with her, Bob struggling to smother his laughter as we left. When I could breathe again, I was glad I’d suggested East Hall. None of my friends would be caught dead there; they’d be at the MU or the Main Library. No way did I want them seeing me with ‘Fatty.’

I was right, none of my friends were at East Hall library that night. However, I spotted several students that I knew slightly from Mason City. So I buried my head in my books, pretending to myself that I was invisible."

--

--

A Journey Out of Depression

I'm nobody, really. Just your average middle-aged, white guy that works in academia; an engineer, but atypical. These writing are in search of my purpose.