5 Essential Actions You Must Do When You Take Over A Team (Leadership 101)

Or You're Well And Truly Stuffed

Phil Roberts
4 min readAug 24, 2023

Okay, picture this: you're suddenly the skipper of a ship midway through a tumultuous voyage — your boat, your crew.

But then you move ships, new crew, new boat. Yikes. Same strategy? Nope, hold it there. You'll sink and fast.

It's now more wild and an overwhelming ride.

And Be Warned. Taking over the leadership of a new team is tough.

1. Understanding the Team, Including Their Secret Handshakes

Yes, your new Team will be full of weirdos. They will also think the same of you.

I remember my first stint as Team lead like a recurring nightmare.

I hiked in all confident and bold, ready to whip things into shape.

I didn't realize I'd crashed into an ongoing party until I saw the cringe and scepticism on the faces around me.

I realized I'd hit into an endless party where I wasn't invited.

And let me tell you, no one likes a party pooper. You must learn the ropes, observe the dynamics, get the inside jokes, and even learn a secret…

--

--

Phil Roberts

Author of The Imposter Syndrome On Audible I Radio Presenter @ Cheshire's Mix 56 I N.L.P Coach l Contact :phil@philrobertsmedia.com