7 Benefits Of Using Straight Talking As A Leader (With Caution)

Phil Roberts
4 min readSep 13, 2023
Image: Khosrork (Canva Pro)

Have you ever sat through a never-ending meeting trying to decipher what your co-worker is actually saying?

Or walked away from a conversation more perplexed than you were at the beginning?

I’ve been there, and it’s frustrating.

Introducing straight-talk.

It’s the nougat in the leadership chocolate bar. Seems harsh at first bite but refreshingly wholesome as you dig deeper.

I’m not advocating for you to turn into blunt chatterboxes overnight. Hell no.

Too much of anything good turns bitter, doesn’t it?

There’s a fine line between straight talk and, well, rudeness. But when done right, you’d be thanking yourself later for adopting it.

If you’re a new manager, you probably think, “B-but, I don’t want to come off as rude…” or “I’d rather keep the peace than rock the boat”.

And that’s okay.

I’ve had those jittery moments, too.

You’re a peacekeeper, not a boat rocker. And I validate that! I’m not asking you to throw Caution to the wind.

--

--

Phil Roberts

Author of The Imposter Syndrome On Audible I Radio Presenter @ Cheshire's Mix 56 I N.L.P Coach l phil@philrobertsmedia.com l philwrites.substack.com