My review of Roswell (1994) with Kyle Maclachlan

Phil Walker
3 min readFeb 8, 2024

--

I watched this movie recently in following my renewed interest in fringe occurrences including instances involving UFO’s. For anyone interested in Ufology I would go as far to say as it’s a must watch.

It was quite well received overall and I find it interesting personally how it was a TV movie.

To give a background for those unaware in the UFO exploration community if we call it that Roswell is very much the huge landmark case where it is often said there was a remarkable cover up.

The case happened in 1947 when military personal Jesse Marcel recovered what appeared to be remains of a flying saucer in the Roswell desert which went so far as to come out in a press release only for the story to be retracted a few days later with Jesse Marcel posed near the remains of a weather balloon acknowledging his mistake. This was the official story for many years until the 90s when Jesse spoke about this not being the case.

From my personal research in Ufology I do definitely think Jesse Marcel found something which was not the weather balloon he posed with and certainly appeared (or was) otherworldly in his informed assessment.

Kyle Maclachlan plays Jesse Macel really well. I’ve always liked him as an actor who can really connect with the audience. I think particularly of his role as Cooper in Twin Peaks and also his role in David Lynch’s Blue Velvet.

Over the years there have been further government stories to retell this in fact saying how it was in fact a specific type of weather balloon (project Mogul) so in a way going back on their original narrative.

In my reading around Roswell I really respect his son’s story who says how he handled the wreckage and speaks of his Dad’s anguish over the years as it seemed his professionalism in the eyes of others was really called into question.

I think this is what the film does really well and what makes it an important one for the story of Roswell. If you read about Jesse Marcel it is very hard to believe that he made the story up and I think this film shows the struggle of a man telling the truth and this being squashed from different angles leading him in this conflict and trying to find the whole picture of what occurred in 1947 in Roswell.

I think there can be no doubt the film seems very accurate as a film told from Jesse’s testimony and the testimony of others there at the time.

I think that strangely if the film was not purely about the Roswell incident but about ‘a’ fictional UFO crash being covered up and a man’s angst in telling the truth and trying to uncover what occured the film could have potentially attracted a wider audience and higher budget. I think of films like Close encounters of the third kind or other UFO movies which depict partial realities but really cater to the wider audience.

Outside of a pure film success though for audiences I think it was important to have a film about Roswell from Jesse’s perspective and I think it is really honouring of him.

I found some of the reviews on this film on wikipedia a little odd such as criticising the conspiracy aspect as I think it is just the telling of someone’s story which isn’t in fact conspiracy so is not really a correct statement.

Whether or not you believe the item found was from outer space I consider this movie and important and true narrative of a man’s and town’s story of what occurred there. I think then it can be great to allow the mind to wonder and potentially continue the journey yourself for the missing pieces to find what the truth may be.

A recommended movie if you are interested in Roswell.

I’m a Counsellor turned writer with a keen interest in fringe topics. I’m developing my writing portfolio more currently. You can find me at www.philwalkerwriter.com

Feel free to comment your thoughts and follow me if you like. I’m new to medium and enjoying it. Take care :)

--

--

Phil Walker
0 Followers

I have a background in Counselling. I love to help people and have a very curious mind. I love reading, researching, and contributing.