Teaching a Nine Year Old how to Program

Where to get started?

Ben Hirsch
2 min readMar 14, 2015

So, I walked up to my son when he was on the computer (he’s usually playing around in Minecraft). He was trying to find a programming course and had found a site (Tech Rocket) where the first course was in Python. There were other courses for iOS (obj-c), Java, and C++.

We didn’t have time to look at the Python course. But we’re already excited to check it out tomorrow. Hopefully I will find enough time to write about it ☺

We also took a look at CodeAcademy, a company I have a a lot of respect for. They were the first company to really ‘mainstream’ programming education. They made it palatable for an adult or young adult to learn how to code. However, their terms of service say you must be at least 13 to follow their courses, so… oh well.

Some background on me. I am a full-stack web and systems developer. I have been working for myself since college. So, this moment was one of pride, excitement and awe of the world of knowledge that awaits.

I haven’t done much research yet, but there seems to be two methodologies for teaching kids. There is the “learn a language” approach, and then there is the “learn concepts via a drag n’ drop GUI” approach. The GUI approach is what is used at his elementary school. That makes sense. It will appeal to a wider group of children than directly learning a language. My son said he was bored with what he was being taught at school and wants to learn “real programming”. OK!

I feel that, given his interest, the GUI route is a waste of time even at his age. It’s a good way to weed out the kids who want to learn programming, engineering, and math but beyond that it is a dead-end for the real learning of the craft, and art that is development.

I am conflicted on where to start though. When I was his age I was learning BASIC. My first apps were “choose you own adventure” style games with primitive pixel art graphics. But even today, I think that type of program would be an excellent first choice for a project. After all, tutorials and courses only go so far. The real learning (and most fun) comes when you begin making your own stuff!

I am excited to see where this goes.

--

--