Why I am never jealous — 3 things that make you immune to jealousy

I will not let my Ego get to me

Phoebe Miller
4 min readAug 20, 2023
Photo by mojtaba mosayebzadeh on Unsplash

The reason why we feel jealous is because we are not satisfied with ourselves. A jealous person is not confident in their own work, in their own appearance and so on.

A jealous person, in the end, is someone who seeks external validation. When they are in the presence of someone objectively better than them, this person realizes that nobody will validate them compared to the person they are jealous of

I remember being with my friends a while ago. We were talking about a difficult class we were are all in together with very smart people attending the same class. My friends said things such as them feeling stupid next to these smart people. That’s when it hit me and made me reflect and compare my mindset to theirs.

They think that they are dumb because they weren’t the ones that said that smart thing.

I think that I am smart because I understood what all those smart people were talking about.

It’s this mindset that makes me almost immune to being jealous.

Be confident and work on yourself

Like I stated in my introduction, jealous people are not confident in themselves.

Why would you be jealous of someone’s work when you yourself did a great job? You wouldn’t.

Focus on growing your own grass, you don’t even notice if the grass is greener on the other side.

Photo by Dim Hou on Unsplash

The time and energy you waste on being jealous could have been used to do something that makes you really proud of yourself.

The more you have those things you are proud of, the less you will feel jealous when other people do things they are proud of.

Think about how you benefit

Be egoistic. That is the reason why I am never jealous of my friends, the reason why I want to see them succeed.

Now you might ask yourself what does that have to do with being egoistic? Let me tell you.

In this day and age having a good network is the key to success.

Have successful people in your network and more opportunities will “magically” appear for you to get more successful as well.

Photo by Fauzan Saari on Unsplash

So next time your friends or someone in your environment succeeds in something, don’t be jealous. Be happy that you know such a successful person. They might help you someday.

Change perspectives

If possible, turn everything into something that compliments you in some way or the other. Like in the little story I told at the beginning with my friends that were jealous because of the smart people surrounding us. I turned this fact into something positive and changed the perspective. I said: “Look, we understand those people. So we are just as smart as them”. Be dellusional if needed.

Changing your perspective like that will help you get more confident and you are less likely to get jealous. Why should you be jealous of someone who just highlights the fact that you are smart?

Instead of being jealous I complimented myself. So try to change and turn a negative view into a beneficial positive one.

Photo by sydney Rae on Unsplash

Jealousy is a disease but it is also very natural. However, if we spend too much time being jealous we loose a lot of energy and time on nothing. While jealousy can help us push ourselves and motivate us, most of the time it is rather time and energy consuming. I hope with these 3 tips I was able to show you how to free your mind from jealousy so you have more time and energy to do things you can be proud of.

Please clap (you can clap 50 times, just in case you didn’t know :) ), comment and follow my blog here on Medium.

Have a great day.

--

--

Phoebe Miller

all about improving ourselves while staying present and embracing our internal world