Trying to hide white feminism as intersectional feminism

Phoenixical
6 min readApr 9, 2018

This past weekend there was a story that came across my timeline about a white liberal feminist. She talked about how after the death of her mother and later her own illness, she moved to Florida and decided to try and join the dating scene. In her article, she talked about how in the beginning she explicitly stated that if you voted for the current administration how she didn’t want anything to do with you and/or date you. Apparently the loneliness was just a little too much for her. She was messaged by a Republican voter and apparently fell in love. (Insert major side eye and head roll). To make her long, self serving article short…..she’s going to marry this dude next month.

Personally, after reading the first paragraph of her article, I already knew what it was. It was another case of white feminism trying to hide as intersectional feminism. Of course her article garnered backlash and I went on her post on her page to witness the shit show in her comments. I was not disappointed. WOC and even some wyte women were in those comments to collect her for her foolishness and fuckery in that article. (Just to be clear, I did force myself to read the entire article. Save yourself the brain cells and just don’t do it). They called her out on it all and basically said the same thing that I felt, how dare you call yourself an ally?

In typical white feminist fashion though, what did she do? She started to erase the comments that did not agree with her. Now, don’t get me wrong, some of those…

--

--

Phoenixical

I’m a student, an HBCU graduate, activist, veteran, animal lover, and a fighter. I am me.