Life After Your Newspaper Job

DJ Loyd
3 min readAug 30, 2018

--

I’m not a believer, but they say one can find a new path.

Film Capture in Vintage Camera

It’s a stressful job. Being solo must be very hard. It doesn't matter if you are a wordsmith or photojournalist. Being a solopreneur is hard.

On the 7 year mark you might be suffering some kind of burnout?

I worked 12 years on small staffs of 3 photogs. It got to the point I was physically sick. Wanting to puke at the thought of another day.

The stress, harassment and the abuse by nonsupportive mgt was overwhelming.

I moved on to another paper, thinking it’s got to be better and after they fired the managing editor it got much, much worse.

I didn’t stay on long after that, less than a year, then I took a job in retail mgt for 7 years.

I have been shooting freelance the past 7 years, and currently transitioning into sports and studio work.

I have aged out, so to speak, at 58, I refuse to put my body through the damage chronic stress does to it.

Pensacola Beach

Not sure if my advice helped you, just know you are not alone if you are exhausted.

Have a doctor check your cortisol levels.

Have your blood pressure checked, and your heart.

Mine started with blurry vision, I thought it was my eyes. It was high blood pressure.

They called it situational.

Change your situation, changes your stress levels. I love to travel the backroads with my camera gear.

I still live, eat and breathe photography/photojournalism 24/7, but I do it on my own terms.

My “personal work “ is film in vintage 1950s cameras. The doctor told me to find a hobby. I tried fishing for about a week and was bored silly, so then I started photographing life on the pier.

I still don’t have a hobby and it’s been 20 years. I do love to veg out in the recliner to watch baseball all day long on my off time.

Think long term- you might need to make some life changing decisions about now. Seriously get to a doctor and see where your levels are, might be something else causing these feelings, or it might just be plain ol’ aggravation, frustration and burnout.

They say to ask yourself- what would you do for free? Well what happens when that answer is still photography and I miss the newspaper world, but photojournalism jobs are not what they were? Then What?

In my life, I have the 7 year itch, I get bored or frustrated and have to move on, sometimes that itch happens in 3 years.

Sometimes it is a sign of growth in your life.

How old we are and also our home life can play into these challenges of balance.

Hope this helps from an old timer!

Looking for a community of film photogs?

Check out my Patreon and please share this!

https://www.patreon.com/DonnaLoyd

--

--

DJ Loyd

Photojournalist -Documenting life & living along the gulf coast. Editorial images can be licensed at https://beachpix.photoshelter.com