A series of 30 short daily posts

Days 7 and 8 of My April Reframing Experiment

In which I have a new thought and appreciate comfortable shoes

Phyllis Unterschuetz
3 min readApr 8, 2023

--

photo by author: Sweetwater Creek State Park, Lithia Springs GA — Yellow Trail

Yesterday I went back to the state park intending to take a 15-minute walk, and I ended up exploring a new trail for an hour. And I wore my new hiking shoes, which are surprisingly comfy considering I got them at Walmart for $19.99. I know, don’t say it.

I had many interesting experiences that I’ll have to write about later, because my time is short today. But I will share a couple things that surprised me.

As I took in the sights, sounds, and smells of the forest and thought about how I would describe them, it occurred to me that it’s not only about what I’m sensing. I mean, there are only so many ways you can write about birds chirping and trees swaying in the breeze.

It’s also about how I’m sensing, or maybe the fact that I am sensing. I’m not lost in my thoughts while I’m walking. Most of the time I’m not musing, reflecting, or even remembering. I’m present to my physical surroundings, paying attention, noticing what’s coming in through my senses rather than focusing on what’s bouncing around in my head.

--

--

Phyllis Unterschuetz

I write memoir & personal essays, poetry, and occasional fairy tales. My topics are racial justice, spirituality, and self-discovery. 3 x top writer.