Computer Science, Engineering mini-projects, or final year projects

Priya Kumari
3 min readSep 1, 2021

--

Those who are not interested in B. Tech/B.E or land up in some engineering college by family pressure or feeling it as a mistake to opt it. Sorry!! This blog is not for you GUYS[starting alert]… This blog has primarily focused on students who are considering pursuing a successful career in computer science (don’t worry, I won’t suggest you finish the projects from scratch).

4 years of B.Tech degree can also help you to understand your’s particular interest in the IT fields(like testing, developer, data scientist, cyber security, cryptocurrency, web technology developer, back-end developer, and so many others). So, you can productively use your four years of engineering to know, yourself better. What I mean at this point is, how can engineering help you filter your interest and passion for the different areas of CS (computer science)?

Generally in the CS branch, we come across 5 to 6 subjects each semester. Just try to figure out answers to these questions related to each subject and make a checklist regarding that subject-

Are you having an interest in that particular subject? Do you want to like to study that particular subject in further more detail? Can you do a job related to that subject for the rest of your life?

If your answer to these all questions is… YES!! You can follow the following 3 steps to get knowledge regarding subject real-time implementation:

  1. Studying its basic theory.
  2. Doing a mini project on it. (at least understand the syntax of mini-project from where you are copying it)
  3. If you are still interested in that subject then go for IT experience through an internship in a start-up company(suggested) regarding that subject.

When I was in college, I made a checklist of all subjects by following the above steps only. And I concluded that I had to do more exploration in the IoT and discovered that I’m good at back-end and machine learning.

MY PERFERENCE IN FIELD
MY 4 years of B.E GAIN checklist
  • When I started studying the subject of computer graphics, cybersecurity, and computer networking, I felt it was so interesting, but later when I started watching videos of its real-life use cases, then I concluded that it is not my pie.
  • In the case of Web Technology(front end) and IoT, I found these two subjects interesting, and their real-life use cases also templating. Then, I went further and started doing projects on it. I end up feeling that web development is also not my pie. But, I was confused about IoT till the 4th year of engineering, so I did my final year project on IoT. Finally, I conclude that I can work on IoT projects, but that I can do it as a last option.
  • DMBS (back-end) and Machine Learning, I found them very interesting as subjects, as projects, and even when I did an internship on it. I found these two as my piece of cake. Finally, I have taken them as my IT career. (Bamm..)

So what I want to wrap up is to start taking advantage of college projects, not just to improve your CV and soft skills. But, you can use college projects to know about your area of interest in IT.

Thanks for reading this blog, hopefully, you found it helpful, or at least find this blog your reflection.

--

--