How to save tabs in Chrome with Pin Tabs

Pier Roberto Lucisano
Codewords
Published in
2 min readDec 31, 2017

Look at the picture.

Is that familiar to you? How many times happened to you to have many tabs opened on Google Chrome?

The fact is that most of the times we do not need tabs open but we do not close them because maybe you are just bored to delete them. It is true that you do not want to save them all in the bookmarks, because you are sure that if you are going to use them, it is going to be just for the next hours or days.

I have this problem and unfortunately I could not find anything really interesting in the Web Store in order to organise my tabs. I do not need any sort of tab manager because this means that I have to spend time in order to organise my tabs and I want to be as efficient as possible.

What I really need is a sort of auto-expiring bookmarks tool. The idea is to have something that keep track of what I saved but only for a very short period of time. I need a kind of box which after a period is emptied by an automatic timer.

For this reason, I spent some of my time to develop a chrome extension which I called Pin Tabs (actually it could have been called auto-expiring bookmarks manager, but it sounds too long and complicated 😱). It is really easy and it does everything I need: save tabs, keep tabs and delete tabs.

Now every time I want to clean the tabs of my browser, I check each of them and if I am not sure whether I am going to use them or not, I save the tabs in this box. Then if I really need them, I add the tabs into my bookmarks, otherwise I forget about it and the extension will do the dirty job of removing them.

This extension is free and you can find the link to download it here.

I am looking forward to your feedbacks 😃

--

--

Pier Roberto Lucisano
Codewords

Passionate Front End engineer seeking fresh challenges, coding the future.