Going Barefoot — Day 10

Pieter K de Villiers
2 min readJul 24, 2019

Stuff begets more stuff

Keeping on track with writing something about my experiment every day is helping me to keep focus, and actually do something every day.

Two shelves in a cupboard in the office cleared out this morning.

We don’t even know what we own

If you asked me yesterday what was in the cupboard, I’d have said some lighting and recording equipment. (I use the term ‘equipment’ very loosely.)

What I found once I started clearing it out is a different story.

Phone bills from 2013, an unused calendar from 2015. (If ever there is a useless item to hang on to.) It is a calendar with nice Banksy images, but as I have nowhere to put them on the wall, and never actually used the calendar side of it, what use has it had at all, in the last 4 years?

I also found two old routers from previous internet providers, no value and no reason to keep it.

What was a nice surprise was finding some pictures and notes from my daughters from a few years ago, which I can scan and then throw out.

Space begets more space

Now that I’ve made space and have very little in the office, I find myself thinking before putting something down. Do I need to keep it? Is this the best place for it?

Once you start noticing all the shit you’ve kept for no good reason, the space it takes up and the time it consumes, moving it out of your way or cleaning up around it, you also realise the real everyday benefit in just having less.

--

--