Tokyo Disneyland vs. Shanghai Disneyland

piggy_cathy
4 min readJan 12, 2020

Disneyland is a place where many Disney’s fans loved to visit, and I’m one of them. I’ve visited two Disneyland within one and a half years. I’d noticed similarities, as well as the differences between the two. So, here I am, writing a summary about my thoughts about the Disneyland in Shanghai and Disneyland in Tokyo.

First of all, the size is different. Unsurprisingly, Shanghai is bigger, because it is the second-largest Disneyland theme park of the world. In consequences, the crowd in Disneyland doesn’t look as packed compared to the one in Tokyo. There are lots of free spaces and you’ll get glimpse of fresh air while walking through the park. You’d also have fun taking pictures of Disneyland’s signature, the Enchanted Storybook Castle. I got a picture of myself standing in front of the castle alone; without any strangers in the frame!

The picture below are pictures taken from Tokyo Disneyland (left) and Shanghai Disneyland (right).

The duration of the ride in Shanghai was shorter. I felt that I experienced longer rides in Tokyo Disneyland than then ones in Shanghai. In Shanghai, the ride were very short like a minute or less in some plaything. It’s kind of disappointing when the waiting time is more than an hour, but you inly get to enjoy the fun for seconds. The Haunted Mansion is the most terrifying ride in Tokyo Disneyland and I really enjoyed it, even though the waiting line was so long, I like how they build up your a fear little by little, the BOOM! In contrast, the Rex’s Racer in Shanghai was terrifying, but the time was too short. I felt that it ended before the peak of the fun.

Fortunately, free fast pass is available on mobile application in Shanghai Disneyland! Before your entry, it is advised to download the official application of the park, and as soon a you enter the park, scan the QR code on your ticket to get access to fast pass. In addition, the application displays an up-to-date waiting time for each attraction on an accurate map. I really love the presence of this official application as it does increase the convenience throughout my day in the park. Unless you are a Japanese citizen or residency, fast pass in Tokyo Disneyland is only available through a machine called kiosk. You have to be at a specific place from time to time in the park to get your fast pass. Therefore, I think it’s less convenient.

Lastly, the feeling and vibe are different. I think it’s because of the differences in culture between the two countries. The staffs in Disneyland Tokyo gave a lively and enthusiastic feelings throughout my day in the theme park. I was greeted by nearly every staff with a big smile on their faces, and their greeting sounds were off in the high pitch range. Therefore, I felt energetic and joyful. I remembered hearing voices from the staffs from time to time, while I was switching from one attraction to the other or when I was waiting for a ride. It is a place that is full of energy in every step taken. However, in Shanghai, it is quiet and peaceful. The staffs calmly greeted and said bye at the beginning and end of every ride, respectively. In addition, I was delighted by their smiles every time I looked at their faces. It would be a great great place for vacation after your hard tiring days at work or school.

Last but not least, I do appreciate the hard work of both Disneylands. I loved the times when I was at the parks. Differences between Disneyland in different countries is one of the charms that I am looking forward to. But please note that, what I have written is what I had experienced during my visit in my point of view. If you had any other experiences please share with me through any of my social accounts, I’d love to hear them all.

Note from writer: my apology if my English is weird or off. I haven’t write long essays in English for a couple of years recently. I’d love to read constructive comments, if you have one! Thank you for reading.

--

--