3 professional gains from solo running

Mrinal
3 min readAug 29, 2023

--

Person running alone on a long road with no clear destination
Photo by Jenny Hill on Unsplash

There is something appealing about running alone. For ages, it has enticed storytellers and moviemakers. Alan Sillitoe’s 1959 “The Loneliness of Long Distance Runner” became an awarded movie. Who can forget Mr. Forest Gump running alone from coast to coast or the exciting “Run Lola run”?

My journey with running began before the era of social media (yes, I know, it sounds ancient). Running groups were rare. I would run solo. I would run anytime, morning, noon, evening, or night. It was a stress buster — nothing exciting about it.

Today running groups are common across the globe. There are quite a few benefits.

  • More fun, less boredom
  • Inspiration or competitiveness leading to better performance
  • Knowledge exchange or interesting gossip
  • Networking
  • Safety (the original reason for forming groups)

Still given a choice I will go alone. Don’t get me wrong, I do run with friends now and then. But mostly run solo. Let me explain why.

I mostly run in the morning hours. Combining solitude, rhythmic action of running, and morning ambiance, generates a meditative effect. It helps to disconnect from chaos. Quieten the mind and help see things more clearly. On the contrary, the chatter never stops in a group.

I have gained way more than health. Below are my top 3 pick

Problem-solving

I have often found a solution for my problems during the run or by the time I finish it. Sometimes it would be a simple option that I would have missed out on earlier or a different angle to explore that would give us a breakthrough eventually.

So next time you are struggling with a problem, go for a solo run — no partner, no music, no smartwatch. Just you enjoying the rhythm and occasionally pondering over the problem

New ideas

A quiet, happy, alert mind is key to getting inspired and finding new ideas. All three are a must. The days when there isn’t much playing on your mind and you are having a good run is the day you are likely to get new ideas.

If you want your creative juices to flow, then

Sleep tight,

wake up bright,

put your shoes right(or don’t if you are a barefoot runner),

forget all about the fight and flight,

run through the morning light

NOTE: This has not worked always for me. But it has worked better than any other option.

Venting out

Things do not always go per our plan causing frustration. (In fact, I wonder if things, anyway, happen on their own and sometimes our thinking is aligned with it…)

There are two types of venting out running experiences I am aware of:

1. The quiet mind brings acceptance. Depending on the nature and degree of frustration we come to terms with frustration during the run or by the time it is over. May find a way around it as well.

2. Brute force takes out the frustration. In this case, I let the frustration level decide the running tempo. While physically drained, I am mentally free and fresh at the end of such a session. I would recommend listening to your body to avoid injuries. It is easy to get carried away

For those reasons, given a choice, I will choose solo running. Not to mention the saying “Sheep live in groups and tigers roam alone” ;-)

Jokes apart, if we dig a bit deeper we will realize that running is a means. Any activity that can get you disconnected, quiet, and alert will give similar results. For me, it was running. It could very well be any other passion — walking, dancing, riding, painting…

So go solo now and then!!

NOTE:

In case you decide to be a “tiger” for a change do take basic precautions, like

  • Choose a safe area that you are familiar with
  • Inform your family about your plans
  • Provide return time
  • Carry phone

Don’t forget to enjoy your run!

--

--

Mrinal

Connecting exploration, experiments & experiences between different fields - Endurance, Calisthenics, Product Management/Strategy/Development, AI & happy living